re-imagine your life!

Think of what it is that you have always loved doing. What if you could do that for living? What if you could be your own boss? What if you could be financially free doing what it is you were born to do? How does imagining that make you feel? Excited? Happy? Respected by your spouse and peers? Loved?

Well I am here to tell you that you can do it. This is our time to shine. A year ago I was in my 16th year of bartending in a place that I loved making really good money. But was it what I was born to do? Was it my real purpose? I can now emphatically say no. What I believe is that everyone has a creative gift. It’s a gift that most people don’t realize that they have. It may not surface until later in life. This gift is something that comes naturally for you.  Bartending came easily to me for many years because I enjoy talking and entertaining people. I love making people laugh and setting a positive example for them.  You have never met a more positive bartender that is more happy to stuff olives with bleu cheese for you! I spoiled my people.

What I didn’t realize back then is that I love helping people. I love inspiring people. I love loving people. But one day I listened to a motivational speech by Jack Canfield, the author of the Chicken Soup for the Soul book series. He was speaking about expanding your limits that you set for yourself. I remember him talking about how some types of folks, like myself, just adore people pleasing. Well, he was starting to talk to me so I paid close attention to what he was saying to me. He said that if you allow yourself to dream big and eventually pursue your dreams and aspire to reach your true highest potential, you can begin to help people and people please on a much bigger scale.

See, as a bartender I can help and inspire a few people, and there’s nothing wrong with that.  But if you say, share your life story by writing a book, do a little footwork, and it becomes a best seller, how many people are you able to help now? Many more people, possibly millions around the globe. In the little amount of time and effort that it takes to write and promote your book while still working your day job can potentially explode into a global phenomenon. What about the millions you make by selling all these books? Can you give back some with that? Of course. Mr. Canfield jokingly stated that he was able to plant 100,000 trees considering he had used so many up selling books and it was the right thing to do! More miraculously, he was also able to donate thousands of wheelchairs to hospitals in third world countries because of his success! I’m sure he contributes much more, but you can see where I’m going with this.

When you create from the heart, great success will come and you will be able to help people on a bigger scale than you ever believed possible. That sounds a little more interesting to me than wasting my potential in a bar for the rest of my life. Think big and big things will happen. We have the world in the palm of our hands now with smartphones. Everything you need. Blogs, podcasting, Google docs, createspace, Youtube and so many other artistic outlets.

Don’t think you need any backing from any major publisher, agent, or any friends pulling strings for you. Those things are a plus and amazing gifts if they appear in your path, but you don’t need them to succeed anymore. You know who decides success besides you giving in and trying? The people on this planet. You can start with one video on Youtube and I bet you will have followers. There are 7 billion people on our planet now. Trust me, if you get it out there, and you have passion and love for what you are doing, people will draw to you like a moth to a flame. It will take care of itself.

Just keep pushing and step outside your comfort zone a little. That’s what I plan on doing. For one, I realized that everything I am saying to you guys is exactly what I need to be doing myself. I have to be following that path too!!

I love you all and keep shining like the star you are! Believe in yourself! You CAN be anything you want to be in this day and age! Why not go for it???

share

Leave a Reply

